by martinhesp

Some people have emailed me direct to ask if I was joking about bat-shite disease – alas, I wasn’t it really did nearly do for me by going to live in a cosy place in one of my heart valves. Which was weird.

Martin Hesp journalist

Image

A few years ago I went to a jungle and nearly died.

Image

That wasn’t good. I wasn’t good at dying. Far too afraid of the great unknown.
Image
Anyway, it gave me something to write about when I got home from the place in which these photos were taken, and I ended up in hospital.
Image
These are the people I was with in the middle of the rainforest.
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Just looking at the photos kind of scares me now.
Image
The thing about jungles is that there are lots of very, very tiny things in there waiting to get you.
Image
My little demons seem to have been microbes introduced into my bloodstream from bat shit. Nice. Didn’t want to go down the wretched bat cave anyway.
Image
I have wondered ever since how these folk survive all those evil microbes. Maybe they ingest so many, they’re just immune.
Image
It took me two years to…

View original post 31 more words

