The Last Broomsquire

by martinhesp

The Last Broomsquire was published a couple of years ago now, and I’m glad to say the publisher – my friend James Crowden of Flagon Books – is getting close to selling outImage the initial print run of a couple of thousand paperbacks.

The reason I mention it late on a Sunday night is that a local councillor just phoned me about something else and then told me it was the only book he’d ever read in all his long life. Apparently he liked the sound of it and, having been born and bred under the Quantock Hills where the book is based, decided to give it a go. He took the book with him on holiday this summer and, this is true, liked it so much he is now planning to visit all the real places in the story.

Which are all authentic, by the way. Actually, so are most of the characters and a great many of the individual anecdotes that feature along the way. The main tale, though, is a complete artifice – woven as fantasy on my part – really the result of what I thought may have happened during a few short but incredibly fascinating years in the hills 200 years ago.

I will blog more fully about the novel in later posts – but only because over the past two years many people have asked me various questions concerning the tale – so maybe a few explanations would be in order.

In the meantime I am delighted to report – should anyone be interested, and I cannot for the life of me imagine why they should – that sales of my humble collection of ebooks are growing apace. So maybe we can beat those toffee-nosed London publishing houses yet and get people interested in stuff that happens outside the M25.

These photographs are of places The Last Broomsquire would have known well – i.e. they feature the northern end of the Quantock Hills.

There are still copies of The Last Broomsquire direct from James at

http://www.james-crowden.co.uk/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=40&category_id=8&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=27&vmcchk=1&Itemid=27

The Cornish Snapper and the Feuding Fishermen can be bought for a ruinous £1.53 at

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cornish-Snapper-Feuding-Fishermen-ebook/dp/B00AGFNP38/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kinc_1/279-3137251-6303668

Image

